Greenbushes is a historically listed town. There is a rich history and visitors can take the time to see some of the following.
The Brierley Jigsaw Gallery
Located in the visitors centre, this is the only jigsaw gallery in the southern hemisphere. This collection was started by Mrs Jessica Brierley when she owned Nelson’s House (now Nelson’s of Bridgetown Motel) in the 1950’s and 60’s. This was then a boarding house where she placed jigsaws out for her guests to do which she then framed and hung them on bedroom walls. When Nelson’s was sold, Mrs Brierley moved the puzzles to her house in Hampton Street and then when the Bridgetown Visitor Centre opened in 1978 the jigsaws were again moved and thus the jigsaw gallery was opened. Since then many puzzles have been donated, ranging from the world’s smallest wooden puzzle to huge 9000 piece puzzles. Entrance is by donation and is open during Visitor Centre hours.
The heritage display within the Visitor Centre depicts the timber industry and apple growing era. There is a variety of items including apple packing equipment from times gone by; many old photographs; weighing scales; household items and farming equipment.
The Old Gaol
Situated near the Visitor Centre the old gaol was still in use up to 1973. Open Saturdays from 10 am to 2 pm. At other times, enquire at the Visitor Center.
Bridgedale (Blechynden House)
This beautiful homestead and gardens was established in 1863, the first home to be built in Bridgetown. Listed with the National Trust, this house has a variety of rooms displaying original articles that would have been commonly used in the late 1880’s and early 1900’s. Phone the Visitor Centre for opening hours on 9761 1740.
The main streets in Bridgetown and Greenbushes have many historic buildings. An explanatory plaque on each denotes its original use. There are booklets showing the routes and more detailed information on the various sites is available from the Visitor Information Centre.
Geegulup Heritage Trail
Retraces the early history of the area and its links with the agricultural, mining and timber industries. This 52 km driving circuit offers a pleasant day’s outing with opportunities for picnicking, walking and canoeing. Guidebook available at the Visitor Centre.